Falling into their Right Places

Standard

Bachelor of Science in Nursing is a course that demands so much of your time and energy (especially where I come from, country and school) that if you don’t have the heart for it or if you can’t imagine yourself living the rest of your life as a nurse or working with patients, you literally won’t survive the stress and the requirements. My batch mates who realized this early on made the decision to drop-out of our major subjects (professional courses) and work on raising their grades and meeting the requirements to shift to different courses.

Since the school year here in the Philippines is from June to March, it’s that time of year again where the results for shifting and transferring among college courses and/or campuses are released. Shifting and transferring is a tough, meticulous process with quite a paper trail. Sometimes interviews have to be conducted and transcripts compared for you to earn a slot in the course.

On Face Book, some of my friends, in such a jubilant mood, announced to the world that they entered this course or that campus, whereas some others weren’t as lucky.

I remember having been forwarded a quote via text message a few years back. It went something like this:

“When your world seems like it’s turning upside-down, like everything is falling apart, be patient. Just wait. Everything will fall into their right places, sooner or later.”

There is just such a warm and fuzzy feeling when you see the people you care about fulfilling their goals and witnessing their dreams turn into a reality. A close friend of mine who truly struggled and tried to hold on to the course (although it was never in her plans to enter the medical field) pulled her grades up and submitted all the requirements for shifting to another course. She had “back-up plans” in different campuses and schools. She started to worry when her “Plan A” didn’t turn out to be a success. Little did any of us know was that she was granted a slot in the BA Journalism program of the College of Mass Communication in the Diliman Campus of the University of the Philippines.

Words cannot explain how happy and proud I was for her because I knew that the writer in her would finally have a chance to shine; an avenue for expression and an opportunity to hone itself. Writing is and has always been a hobby and passion of hers. Getting into the Journalism Program was tantamount to her having taken the next step to the fulfillment of her dreams and to pick up those pieces of her life gone awry, so to speak.

Another friend of mine tried to shift out of Nursing into another course, not because she didn’t have the heart for it, but because her parents weren’t happy with the idea of her becoming a nurse. Being a member of our barkada (a core group of friends), she spent a year in another part of the campus, taking up subjects different from ours in order to make the grades and requirements needed to shift. But shifting is a very competitive process, and oftentimes, the “supply” of slots offered is depleted too soon for all of the “demand”. In short, she didn’t make it and some other students deemed more qualified were granted the limited slots.

My heart goes out to this friend of mine who didn’t make the shift and all others like her, because their plans didn’t seem to work out this year. I’m not one to tell them to give up, to suck it up and move on. They can always try again next year. But they’re comes a point in life where you just have to know when to stop.

Go ahead, fight on to the very bloody and bitter end if need be if there is still that smallest, most tiny, most unlikely glimmer of hope, but if fighting is costing you more resources, time and emotions than  a retreat, where is the sense in that? This just doesn’t apply for the whole shifting drama, by the way. I boldly daresay that it applies for life, as well.  To fall takes faith, courage and most importantly, trust. Trust in the circumstances and into your own intuition. But have serenity and sense to know that there are some things that aren’t worth changing.

Learn to accept failure as a blessing in disguise or an opportunity for growth or introspection. See where you’ve gone wrong and work on it. Learn to be content. Sometimes, we waste too much time and energy chasing after things which aren’t supposed to be ours or aren’t for our own good in the first place. We dream of falling into the right place when, little do we know and late do we realize, we’ve been in the right place all along.

About jdelacruz

I may be one complete package, but don't even bother anymore to stuff me in a box or to stick some label on me. I'm above and beyond all that now. We must get out, while there's still time. So burst your little bubble; break open and rise out of that box; and step out of your comfort zone. Journey with me. This may take a while, but trust me, it's worth the wait.

One response »

  1. I agree most of all at your concluding statement. When I first entered the university, I was always plagued with the idea of shifting. Even my high school (school)mates and teachers would ask me, “Bakit ka nag-PolSci? Di ka ba magsishift?” Such was because they see me as a mathematician or a some kind of scientist in the future. As my first semester went by, I always goaled of fitting my grades in high standards so that I could shift course when I become a sophomore. But when I saw how haggard the other UPM students were in their respective courses (though I know that all courses in UP are difficult), I thought of not shifting [and transferring] already. Moreover, I realized that PolSci gave me extra time to continue my passion, which is creative writing. The course also eradicated my conversative and “maka-gobyerno” views (even though I’m not an activist). I guess I fell into a right place.

Leave a Reply

